You are here:

Marriage: Registration for marriage

The official path to marriage

The official part of the path to marriage consists of three steps.

For more information: see under Procedure.


Registration for marriage takes place at the registry office of the place of residence. If the spouses have different places of residence, the registration of the marriage is optionally possible in one of the registry offices.

The city of Bremen has two registry office districts. For this reason, those marrying in Bremen-Mitte must register at the Bremen-Mitte registry office, while those marrying in Bremen-Nord must register at the Bremen-Nord registry office. The marriage can take place in any registry office in the federal territory.